Almost full circle.

July 23, 2010

We spent last weekend at my aunt and uncle’s farm.  They recently bought some land and built their dream home.

And?

It sure as shit ain’t Old McDonald’s Farm.


As you approach the house, you pass the final resting place of the Jacomini’s.

A chapel, with four trees around it. A tree for each of them. Biggest is Tommy’s tree. Smallest, Vivi’s. Growing each day, more and more, from their ashes buried beneath.

Inside the chapel are four headstones.  If you are sitting in front of Vivi’s stone, you can look out and see her tree. And so on…

The ceiling was made out of stained glass by my uncle, Susie’s father.

It’s a wonderful, peaceful place. Somewhere we can go to be close to them. To talk to them. It’s strangely calming.

The weekend was great!!

So relaxing to be out there, in the middle of nowhere.

Lots of swimming.

And of course, the kids dropped trou.

My aunt and uncle have owned a player piano since before I was born. You know the kind? The piano that tickles it’s own keys. My sister, my cousins, and I spent so much time on that thing throughout our childhood.

And now?

Our kids are doing the same.

So bizarre.

My eyes filled with tears as I was taking this shot with my iPhone.

We have come full circle.

Except our circle will never be complete.

There will always be four people missing.

*Apologies for the bad iPhone pictures 🙂

11 Responses to “Almost full circle.”


  1. Beautiful. Makes me want to hug you.

  2. Melissa Says:

    Hi Allison!! *waves furiously* Remember me? You follow me on Twitter now, and I said hi at Becky’s place.

    Just wanted to tell you that your IPhone photos are AWESOME. Way better than my coolpix camera, and I havent even USED my cell phone camera yet. It ALMOST makes me want to get an IPhone, except I am on my family’s business plan, even though I dont work there. And its Verizon, and my asshat little brother used my upgrade and my sisters upgrade to get himself a droid, and us crap ass phones. PLUS my family’s company pays for it.

    Also, that pool is awesome. Can I come over when nobody is home? I wouldnt want someone seeing me in a bathing suit. Also, if nobody is home, I could drop trou! Unless of course you have security cameras. Umm, never mind.

    Nice to see you!

    *waves bye furiously*


    • hey!!
      if you are ever close by, call me, I will totally let you drop trou in the pool 🙂 I can turn the cameras off for the night 😉

      Also? are you a cop?

      I haz scared 🙂

      Thanks so much for reading!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Not a cop, last name is Copeland. I just dont want to be googlelable. <<I like that word.

    I live in the NYC Metro area, specifically North Jersey.

  4. Melissa Says:

    Now I see you live in TX. Sigh.

  5. BuenoBaby Says:

    Your family’s ‘story’ is just heartbreaking.

    The chapel is so lovely. It’s hard to tell from the pictures, but it appears to be small and cozy until you look up and see the sky. What a thoughtful design.

    My mom’s ashes are buried atop a hill over looking a lake. Even though I know she isn’t ‘there’ I still like the idea that she has good real estate. So materialistic and worldly of me! But sometimes it’s the small comforts that help get you through.

  6. Jennifer Says:

    But, in a way, you are all there. Just not the way you would like. I’m so sorry that you have to bear this loss, but I’m glad that you have a place where you can feel their presence.


Leave a Reply

